Project creation "restrict access" feature too ambiguous.

Description

Description of problem:
"Would you like to restrict access to this project to certain User roles?"

"Restrict access" implies that no unauthorised user can access the project, ie. view the project at all.
As the feature only applies to translations, it should indicate this clearly somewhere, ideally in the question itself.

Version-Release number of selected component (if applicable):
3.x

How reproducible:

Steps to Reproduce:
1. Sign in, go to $server/zanata/project/create
2. View the lower options of project creation

http://zanata.org/help/projects/create-project/ indicates what this feature does, but certainly wasn't what was expected.

Environment

None

Activity

Show:
Bugzilla Migration
July 31, 2015, 1:54 AM

Damian Jansen commented on 2014-02-19 20:47:23 -0500:

I think this is handled in bug 1066796

Luke Brooker
August 3, 2015, 3:18 AM

This feature should just be removed. I don't think anyone is using it and the upcoming project roles feature will make it even more useless.

Damian Jansen
August 12, 2016, 3:08 AM

Option still exists in 3.9.3/4.0, and we should determine its validity.

Kathryn Gough
October 11, 2016, 12:25 AM
Edited

How does changing the text to the following sound:

"Would you like to restrict access to translations in this project to certain User roles?"

re:Luke's comment... is this functionality still needed?

Kathryn Gough
December 20, 2016, 4:28 AM

Changing text to: Restrict access to translations in this project to certain user roles?

Ready for Release

Assignee

Kathryn Gough

Reporter

Damian Jansen

Labels

None

Tested Version/s

None

Components

Sprint

None

Fix versions

Affects versions

Priority

Low
Configure